Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: March 27, 2017, 03:53:42 AM

Hello I am trying to hide the article content area but it doesn't seem to be working it still appears as is.

I go to Main > Layout > Select Hide Component Output then select the page I don't want the article area but nothing happens.

Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong here?

Here is the link http://www.stoneseed.co.uk/beta/
I have supplied a screenshot of the backend settings
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 27, 2017, 07:09:17 AM

Hello,

It's odd that it's showing selected gray, normally a browser would show blue when it's selected. If you save the configuration does it remain highlighted when you enter back into the configuration?
Logged

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: March 27, 2017, 07:46:38 AM

When you first select it its blue but once you save and it reloads it displays as grey.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 27, 2017, 06:40:08 PM

Hello,

That should definitely be working. If you can private message me super admin access and ftp access I can take a closer look.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 29, 2017, 08:05:48 AM

Hello,

I am not really sure what is causing this problem. All the code looks correct, I am not able to replicate the problem locally, and we have other reports of this. It's very strange, it might have something to do with your temporary "beta" url, but I don't see what. I created a custom work around for you though by adding the following to index.php which will hide the component with css on the homepage:

<?php
//Detect homepage
$app = JFactory::getApplication();
$menu = $app->getMenu();
$lang = JFactory::getLanguage();
if ($menu->getActive() == $menu->getDefault($lang->getTag())) { ?>
#s5_center_area1 {
display:none !important;
}
<?php } ?>   
Logged

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: April 06, 2017, 03:53:22 AM

Do I stick the PHP code anywhere on the index.php. Has it doesn't seem to be doing anything.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: April 06, 2017, 07:07:48 AM

Hello,

I have already put this on your site and I see the content area is hiding on the homepage of your site. Are you still seeing an issue somewhere?
Logged

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: April 06, 2017, 07:19:48 AM

Oh yes it has worked but only on the homepage. Is there a way to remove it on other pages too?
Logged

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: April 06, 2017, 07:28:01 AM

No problem I have sorted it now thanks for your help Smiley
Logged

Offline kflavel01
Free Member
Posts: 83
Posted on: January 03, 2018, 03:02:18 AM

Hello, I am having the same issue with another site. I can't seem to get ride of the article content area even thou it I have highlighted it in the template. I tried adding the code above with no such look where abouts in the index.php did you add it?

This is the site http://www.mirageweddingbackdrops.co.uk/
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.025 seconds with 20 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.