Forum Support

Shape 5
April 19, 2021, 04:04:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Menu's visibility with Big Picture template  (Read 562 times)
diermava82
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« on: May 09, 2017, 04:14:11 PM »

Dear support,

Our client would like to see the menu visible all the time and not like a choice for the user clicking on an icon to deploy the menu.

Could you help us to identify what exactly xml file we would have to modify and what line we should modify to get this result?

The site url is www.hogarnuevagranada.org/newweb

We are working with Big Picture template

Thanks in advance.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2017, 11:49:45 AM »

That is not something that can be done by editing an XML file.  The XML files generate the options for the theme admin, as well as the widget styles dropdown list.  Changing the way the site works can either be done in the theme options ("Shape 5 Theme" on the admin menu), or through widget configuration. 

Anything more advanced than what can be done with those methods is likely to require editing actual theme code, which is considered "custom coding" and is not technically covered by support.  However, I believe the change you want to make is fairly simple, so I took a look at the code and I believe the following edit should give you the result that you want:

First: On the "Specific" tab of the theme options, remove all text from the "Menu Text" field.

Next: Locate the following code in the index.php file of the theme (around line #81):

Code:
<?php if($s5_pos_custom_1 == "published") { ?>
<!-- Menu and Other -->
<script type="text/javascript">

Finally: Change the first line of that code so it matches this:
Code:
<?php if(false && $s5_pos_custom_1 == "published") { ?>
<!-- Menu and Other -->
<script type="text/javascript">

If you change your mind, you can put the menu text back and remove the "false && " from the code.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
diermava82
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 10:30:11 AM »

Hello,

I followed the indications that you sent me but this did not work, I attached the index.php with the change that you suggested.

I appreciate if you can help me to make the menu always visible
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 11:35:44 AM »

It looks like you changed the wrong line of code. 

The attached file has the correct edit.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
diermava82
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 31



« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2017, 08:29:30 PM »

Hello,

Thank you for your help but what we want is that the menu is always open, from the moment the page is opened, at the time it was left when netscroll is done, the menu is displayed or on the internal pages.

Another question if you can in this same post, how can we resize the search text box and change the color of the box?

Best regards


It looks like you changed the wrong line of code. 

The attached file has the correct edit.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2017, 10:16:07 AM »

I took another look at the code, and I think I found another edit that was needed to make sure that the menu will always appear.  The updated file is attached.

As far as changing the appearance of the search bar, my best suggestion would be to use a tool like Firebug to inspect the code and test out whatever changes you want to make.  There is no way to make those changes without changing the CSS, but Firebug will show you what CSS to edit.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.