Forum Support

Shape 5
September 20, 2021, 04:59:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Performance issues in game world 2015?  (Read 600 times)
ywncyber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« on: May 17, 2017, 03:41:54 AM »

Hello Shape5,

I am having some major performance woes on superluigibros.com in terms of load speed and the fact that it never seems to truly stop loading

Where the site favicon is for example it shows the swirl in firefox which indicates something is trying to load. even when the page appears visibly loaded

It also takes a good 7-8 seconds to even start loading a new page once selected from menu. site is superluigibros.com

I have been with my hosting provider years and am pretty confident it isn't them. I run joomla 3.7 and php7.1. i spoke to my hosts about it who said they'd made a few performance tweaks for us but it hasnt done much

I have removed loads of unnecessary addons/extensions since I migrated to 3.7 / purged out loads of old urls and stuff like that yet its now the worst its ever run :-(

All images are optimized and I use the pro version of JCH optimize

But none of it really seems to help. Can you see any issues on the page which might be grossly affecting performance?

Please let me know any help appreciated. Thank you
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2017, 07:06:01 AM »

Hello,

A template has very little to do with site speed, it is only made up of some css files and very basic images. If your site is taking 7 to 8 seconds to load and sometimes never finishing to load that is a latency issue on the server. I checked your site on gtmetrix and your site took 28.7 seconds to load, that is definitely a server related issue. You would need to contact your hosting provider to correct this. If you're on a shared server, that is most likely the cause.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ywncyber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 02:33:12 PM »

thanks for your reply Mike.

I've used this web host for many years on a shared server and prior to joomla 3.7 my sites were pretty quick.

(I upgraded from Joomla 2.5 php 5.3 to 3.7 and 7.1 at the same time as getting the new theme and extensions that go with it etc)

Is it definitely none of the S5 plugins etc that could be a problem?

Is there any indication from what you can see of what would make it 28 seconds to respond? Thats outrageous.

And this.......
Your site has been limited within the past 24 hours

CPU resources were limited for your site

You have reached entry processes (number of simultaneously running php and cgi scripts, as well as cron jobs and shell sessions) limit 169 times

...... Thats just bad. I don't really know what to do with it, the sites keep going down :-(
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 07:35:36 AM »

Hello,

No, there is nothing in our template or extensions that would cause anything like that. The demo uses the same products and you can see how fast it loads.

I have loaded your site again, one time it loaded in 17.1 seconds, another in 45.2 seconds, and another in 36.0 seconds. If it were a template issue you'd expect to get the same results nearly every time, but that is pointing to a latency issue on the server.

We also have no reports of any problems from other members as well.

"number of simultaneously running php and cgi scripts, as well as cron jobs and shell sessions"

There will be a few basic php calls in our products to load variables and contents, but nothing complex. The other items in that list we do not use at all; that would be coming from something else.

As I suggested above you need to contact your host. Using them for years does not mean all your sites are on the same server. You can also try disabling certain parts of the site; you may have a third party extension that is interfering.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ywncyber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2017, 03:01:18 AM »

Hi Mike

I don't know why but I have finally found a solution which makes a HUGE difference.

I disabled S5 Image and Content fader and the site is like lightning now.

I appreciate it is fast on the demo site etc but clearly I must have something that it doesn't want to work with. I was wondering if I can still use the module without the Javascript? ie so it just shows a static background exactly where it normally would but with no fading etc?

I think this may finally then solve my problem!

Please let me know.

Best regards

Luke
PS Better yet if you could see what S5 Fader is conflicting with that would be even better as I really did love that fade effect.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2017, 03:04:26 AM by ywncyber » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2017, 04:13:03 AM »

Hello,

I don't know why that would change anything on your site; all that module does is pull images and basic html, it's not doing any complex lookups. You can't have a module like that without javascript; and javascript loads would not slow down your site speed like that or give the error message you mentioned above.

If you are using the article method in the module's backend you can try switching to html module instead. That's the only thing I can think of. If it's causing a delay on loading the articles, that means there's a lookup issue in your Joomla installation or database when trying to load the articles. Html mode doesn't use articles at all, and just outputs the content and pictures that you define in the module.

You can have a static background behind the site but you won't be able to have words up there or fading; those are specific to the module. It will look like the url below, and you can set this image up in the Theme Specific tab:

http://www.shape5.com/demo/game_world/index.php/features-mainmenu-47/template-specific-features
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ywncyber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2017, 04:36:12 AM »

Hi Mike

It doesn't make sense to me either. It must be that something already on my setup just doesn't like working with it.

Thanks for that I've now managed to keep my page speed + put the background on at the theme specifics bit.

Best regards

Luke
Logged
ywncyber
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 62



« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2017, 04:54:25 AM »

One more thing I'd like to ask if possible which should be a bit easier!

How do I make the Header area s5_header_area2 a bit taller? It is 100px height by default it seems but I can't see the option in the theme setup.

This is just to accomodate my logo so the logo isn't overlapping the top navigation

(or alternatively, just create some space between the logo at the top and the menu would do)
« Last Edit: May 27, 2017, 05:48:36 AM by ywncyber » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2017, 06:54:33 AM »

Hello,

The header area is controlled in template.css under the #s5_header_area2 area, it's currently set to 76px. However, you have some kind of cache plugin enabled that will need to be cleared.

Once you make that change the search area will no longer be centered; we do not provide modification service as part of our support. I would suggest using a tool like Firebug to visually identify the css for each area and make adjustments.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.