Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline Fotogravyr
Free Member
Posts: 6
Posted on: June 19, 2017, 09:41:44 AM

I have the Wordpress Forte Theme. I cannot change the background color neither from the theme options nor by CSS editing from file manager.
I also tried to make changes in Body Shadow Options: Color, Size and Opacity and NOTHING.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 19, 2017, 10:43:52 AM

Do you have a cache plugin or some other form of caching enabled on your server?
Logged

Offline Fotogravyr
Free Member
Posts: 6
Posted on: June 20, 2017, 08:57:51 AM

Do you have a cache plugin or some other form of caching enabled on your server?
No. I made a fresh install of the forte Site Sharper Theme, and I didn't install any cache plugins. I also disabled caching in firefox. I don't see any caching enabled in cpanel. I cannot even see changes made with firebug. I just want to change the background color in the theme.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 20, 2017, 11:20:21 AM

If even the changes you make in Firebug aren't showing, then it's probably a problem in Firefox, not something related to the theme.

Have you made sure you're on the latest version of the Vertex Upgrade Patch?

Just for easy reference:


===============
To install the patch:

1. Download the Vertex Upgrade Patch.
2. Back up your site (just in case).
3. Copy the vertex/footer.php from the theme folder to somewhere safe (you'll be putting it back after patching).
4. Delete the vertex folder from the theme (nothing else, that is the only thing to delete).
5. Extract the zip file containing the patch, and upload it to the theme folder through FTP, choosing "overwrite" if/when prompted.
6. Copy the footer.php file (from step 3) back into the vertex folder of the theme.

That's it. 

Or, to put it a different way:
1. Back up vertex/footer.php. 
2. Delete the vertex folder, then upload the extracted patch to the theme folder. 
3. Put the footer.php file back into the vertex folder of the theme.
===============


 
Logged

Offline Fotogravyr
Free Member
Posts: 6
Posted on: June 20, 2017, 09:50:17 PM

If even the changes you make in Firebug aren't showing, then it's probably a problem in Firefox, not something related to the theme.

Have you made sure you're on the latest version of the Vertex Upgrade Patch?

Just for easy reference:


===============
To install the patch:

1. Download the Vertex Upgrade Patch.
2. Back up your site (just in case).
3. Copy the vertex/footer.php from the theme folder to somewhere safe (you'll be putting it back after patching).
4. Delete the vertex folder from the theme (nothing else, that is the only thing to delete).
5. Extract the zip file containing the patch, and upload it to the theme folder through FTP, choosing "overwrite" if/when prompted.
6. Copy the footer.php file (from step 3) back into the vertex folder of the theme.

That's it. 

Or, to put it a different way:
1. Back up vertex/footer.php. 
2. Delete the vertex folder, then upload the extracted patch to the theme folder. 
3. Put the footer.php file back into the vertex folder of the theme.
===============


 

Yes, I did the patch following the instructions above. I must remark that after installing the patch, the S5 theme panel still was showing that I have vertex 4.0.0 instead of 4.1.0. I read in another post that you may have forgotten to change the version on the xml file, so I did the change and now the both buttons are green on the vertex version.

But I still have problems. I cannot change the background color, neither in firefox nor chrome.

I changed css color codes in the template.css file and nothing.
First time I have such difficulties trying to change colors in a template.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 21, 2017, 12:24:44 PM

What's the specific setting you're trying to change?  Are you sure you're trying to change the right thing?  If you have a background image and you want the color to show through, you'll need to make sure the image has transparency.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.028 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.