Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline biscweb
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: October 02, 2017, 05:52:41 AM

Hi,

We are trying to move our newly created site to a new host that uses a reverse proxy to make the site secure. The template does not work properly in its new location. We are getting lots of messages along the lines of:
Mixed Content: The page at 'https://domain.com/' was loaded over HTTPS, but requested an insecure image 'http://domain.com/images/test1.png'. This content should also be served over HTTPS. 

I understand that the paths to the images should be relative, but something is making them absolute once they reach the reverse proxy server, and I can only guess that this is the template. Is there some way of switching this 'absolute' feature off without disabling SEO friendly URLs? If we can force the images to remain with relative paths, I think that this would enable the reverse proxy to handle them correctly. Is that correct?

I'd be grateful for any help anyone is able to offer!
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: October 02, 2017, 11:01:52 AM

Hello,

This is most likely in the module or article that is calling the image. You just need to update the URLs in the admin area of Joomla (article or module manager areas). Disable your WYSIWYG editor too to be sure Joomla isn't making the path absolute upon saving. It can do this and disabling the editor will ensure relative URLs.
Logged

Offline biscweb
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: October 02, 2017, 12:14:15 PM

Hi,

Thank you for this. Please forgive my ignorance, but within the article/module itself I have the image set as follows, for example:

<p><a href="admissions/apply" rel="alternate"><img width="480" height="320" title="Apply today!" alt="Apply today!" src="images/Home_page/Bank_of_6/Web.jpg" caption="false" />[/url]</p>
<p style="margin-top: 20px; margin-bottom: 20px;"><a class="readon noarrow noback" href="index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=50&amp;catid=36">Read More<span class="ion-android-arrow-forward"></span>[/url]</p>

I can't see any full URLs here, but am I just being stupid, or am I looking in completely the wrong place?? All the images are set like this, but all return mixed content errors.
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: October 03, 2017, 11:13:45 AM

Did you do a view site source via your browser on the frontend to see which images have the full URL on them? Personally this is what I do when this happens to track down where the http is coming from.
Logged

Offline biscweb
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: October 04, 2017, 05:06:54 AM

Hi Jonah,

How can we show you an example of the problem we are having without exposing our URL's to this public forum?

The problem will be much clearer when you can actually see it

Regards

Biscweb
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: October 04, 2017, 09:46:47 AM

You can click on the message icon under my name and send me a PM. Only I will have access to view it then.
Logged

Offline biscweb
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: October 05, 2017, 03:11:20 AM

Thank you for your patience. The issue has now been resolved. It turned out to be a server-related issue. We added an Entrust certificate to the reverse proxy, modified the live site url in configuration.php (Joomla config file) to HTTPS, added a configuration directive to the backend apache server to have it respond as HTTPS, added a HTTP to HTTPS redirect to the reverse proxy. With all of this done, the template now works brilliantly.
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: October 05, 2017, 12:11:22 PM

Oh ok great, happy to hear you got it resolved!
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 20 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.