Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline dache74
Free Member
Posts: 21
Posted on: July 06, 2016, 11:42:30 PM

Hi, I have two questions:

1. Do you have any idea why the featured image shows at thumbnail size rather than scaling to the width? The site shaper pages show images correctly. Here is the page: http://www.hackerdad.co/storage/rip-and-back-up-your-dvds-and-blu-ray-movies/


2. How do I change post titles from h2 to h1? I edited this file - wp-content/themes/s5_blog_box/html/featured/default_item.php, but it did not change the tag.

Thanks.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: July 07, 2016, 08:50:04 AM

1. Do you have any idea why the featured image shows at thumbnail size rather than scaling to the width? The site shaper pages show images correctly. Here is the page: http://www.hackerdad.co/storage/rip-and-back-up-your-dvds-and-blu-ray-movies/

   When selecting a Featured Image, you'll need to make sure you have the largest size option selected if you want the image to fit the full width.  You'll also need to make sure your images are large enough to fit the full width of the area where you want them to display; the demo images are much larger than the image shown at the link you posted.  WP by default creates multiple sizes of each image that is uploaded; you can change the default sizes under "Settings -> Media" in WP Admin.

2. How do I change post titles from h2 to h1? I edited this file - wp-content/themes/s5_blog_box/html/featured/default_item.php, but it did not change the tag.

   The theme-globals.php file is where most of the HTML structure is located, but it's highly recommended that you don't change your titles to H1 instead of H2 for SEO reasons.  Having multiple H1 tags on a page is frowned on by Google's search ranking system, while having all H2 tags and no H1 is generally ok.  However, I just made a slight modification to the default theme files that will update the theme to change the H2 to an H1 on any "singular" page and I'm attaching a .zip with the new files; just extract the .zip and drop the files from it into your theme folder & overwrite when prompted.
Logged

Offline dache74
Free Member
Posts: 21
Posted on: July 07, 2016, 11:12:26 AM

Thanks for the reply and the hotfix, Tristan! As far as the image size, I understand what you are saying, and the image should be large enough to span -- the original uploaded to the media manager is 600px wide, but the article is automatically pulling the thumbnail version, which is 430. you can see it in the source code -- it's pulling DVDs-sm-430x203.jpg instead of DVDs-sm.jpg, which is selected as the feature image.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2016, 11:59:57 AM by dache74 »
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: July 11, 2016, 07:13:25 AM

It appears that you got the image to display the way you wanted; was there anything specific you needed to do?
Logged

Offline dache74
Free Member
Posts: 21
Posted on: July 12, 2016, 03:25:08 PM

It appears that you got the image to display the way you wanted; was there anything specific you needed to do?

Evidently the template calls the Thumbnail version of the image rather than full size for single article display. I set the Thumbnail size to be around 800px wide, and then re-uploaded the default image. This fixed the display size of the image. Not ideal, but a workaround. 
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: July 13, 2016, 07:41:16 AM

I have just updated the Vertex Upgrade Patch with a minor change that I believe will stop it from defaulting to the thumbnail size.


===============
To install the patch:

1. Download the Vertex Upgrade Patch.
2. Back up your site (just in case).
3. Copy the vertex/footer.php from the theme folder to somewhere safe (you'll be putting it back after patching).
4. Delete the vertex folder from the theme (nothing else, that is the only thing to delete).
5. Extract the zip file containing the patch, and upload it to the theme folder through FTP, choosing "overwrite" if/when prompted.
6. Copy the footer.php file (from step 3) back into the vertex folder of the theme.

That's it. 

Or, to put it a different way:
1. Back up vertex/footer.php. 
2. Delete the vertex folder, then upload the extracted patch to the theme folder. 
3. Put the footer.php file back into the vertex folder of the theme.
===============
Logged

Offline dache74
Free Member
Posts: 21
Posted on: July 13, 2016, 09:20:24 AM

Thanks, Tristan! I will give it a try.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 23 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.