Forum Support

Shape 5
November 29, 2020, 10:45:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: background Image in header  (Read 1129 times)
keynet
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« on: February 05, 2018, 11:58:50 AM »

Hi,
I want to try adding an image to my header - but I can't find where to put the file.

Under "Theme specific" the option "Set Your Own Custom Header Background" and setting a colour works OK.

But I'm not sure if "set your own..." option should be on or off when selecting an image, and the help for "background image name" says put the image in the "root images folder of your site". In Wordpress is that "/wp-content/uploads", or "/wp-content/themes/s5_design_control/images", or somewhere else ? I can't make any of the options show a background image in the header.  I also tried a complete file path, and a complete URL as suggested, but without luck.

Thanks
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 10:29:40 AM »

If you create an "images" folder in the root of your site, you can put the images there and it will work without you needing to add a path.   

You should also be able to use the [siteurl] shortcode, followed by the relative path to the file from your site root.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
keynet
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 01:34:44 PM »

Thanks - I can only get it working by creating a root directory called "images" as you suggest, not sure how the  [siteurl] shortcode works ?
[siteurl]/images/image.jpg for example? I can't make that do anything.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2018, 11:11:15 AM »

Have you installed the latest version of the Vertex Upgrade Patch?  The [siteurl] shortcode returns the URL of the site, it's primarily used for widget content where you don't want to have to type the full URL to an image or other resource.

I think in the theme options, instead of "[siteurl]", you can just use "siteurl" without the square brackets.  It has been a while since I added that feature, but I seem to remember that there was a reason the brackets couldn't be included.  I had forgotten about that.

Hopefully that helps!
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
keynet
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2018, 06:29:21 PM »

I just installed the theme, and it reports vertex as V4.1 - same as latest - so I assumed it's already up to date - please advise is that isn't the case.

I tried various flavours of "siteurl" but can't make it fly, unless using the magic images dir.  Never mind, it's just nice to have images all together in 1 place, though wordpress makes that quite hard with it's conventions! Thanks for your help again.


quote author=Tristan Rineer link=topic=47684.msg194160#msg194160 date=1518023475]
Have you installed the latest version of the Vertex Upgrade Patch?  The [siteurl] shortcode returns the URL of the site, it's primarily used for widget content where you don't want to have to type the full URL to an image or other resource.

I think in the theme options, instead of "[siteurl]", you can just use "siteurl" without the square brackets.  It has been a while since I added that feature, but I seem to remember that there was a reason the brackets couldn't be included.  I had forgotten about that.

Hopefully that helps!
[/quote]
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2018, 01:58:41 PM »

I'm not sure why it would have trouble with URLs outside the images folder, but at least you got it working. 


As far as updates are concerned, the patch is updated incrementally with minor updates that aren't necessarily critical and the actual version number is generally only changed when something significant is changed.  Even if you're not on the absolute latest version, there shouldn't really be any difference that would matter on your site.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.