Forum Support

Shape 5
December 04, 2021, 07:39:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PNG Banners won't display  (Read 1097 times)
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« on: June 30, 2009, 08:04:29 AM »

My JPG format banners will display, but PNG format banners won't display.

They display just fine in the J1.0 site I'm migrating from.

I haven't changed any of the default settings for media types in my new J1.5 implementation, plus I double-checked to make sure PNG is an allowed file type in the global settings.

Is this an issue specific to the template, or ... ??
Logged
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 09:50:41 AM »

I still haven't been able to resolve this issue.  Please help!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 07:04:20 AM »

Hello, please post a url to where the banners are being displayed.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2009, 04:49:03 PM »

Hello, please post a url to where the banners are being displayed.

Thanks for responding.

http://www.clarioncounty.info

The JPG banner is the one that is displayed.  The PNG banners I have identified in the component won't display unless I convert the files to JPG (which messes up the colors in the graphics by adding to the palette).
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2009, 09:41:15 AM »

Hello, does the image not display at all or does it not look right?

Make sure your url to your image is correct. Try opening the exact url to the image in your browser to make sure it opens.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2009, 09:40:23 PM »

Hello, does the image not display at all or does it not look right?

Make sure your url to your image is correct. Try opening the exact url to the image in your browser to make sure it opens.

The PNG banners were uploaded via the Media Manager the same as the JPG banner.  They appear in the Banner Manager / Banner: Edit screens correctly.  They are published.  Yet, they don't rotate.  If I change to a JPG banner instead of a PNG format, it works.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2009, 07:54:13 AM »

Please post the exact url of your png image on your site.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2009, 11:21:21 AM »

Please post the exact url of your png image on your site.

Here are three:

http://clarioncounty.info/images/banners/kepplebanner.png

http://clarioncounty.info/images/banners/mcnamarabanner.png

http://clarioncounty.info/images/banners/chaslogo.png
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2009, 08:10:30 AM »

If you can private message me super admin access I can look into this for you.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2009, 08:01:39 AM »

Hello, they were showing but the module was set to:

Randomise: Sticky, Ordering

I changed it to:

Randomise: Sticky, Randomise

Ordering will always pull the first banner, which is a jpg. Randomise will set them to pull randomly in no particular order.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
tngenewhiz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82



« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2009, 08:12:11 PM »

Hello, they were showing but the module was set to:

Randomise: Sticky, Ordering

I changed it to:

Randomise: Sticky, Randomise

Ordering will always pull the first banner, which is a jpg. Randomise will set them to pull randomly in no particular order.

Thanks for your assistance.  I'll watch for that in future.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.