Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline newday
Free Member
Posts: 9
Posted on: July 27, 2009, 03:58:55 PM

I have two problems with the main menu buttons.

PROBLEM #1) I had the same problem as another poster where the left side of the button graphic was misaligned in Firefox only. I applied the following fix that you suggested and it fixes the problem in FF. But, then the button becomes misaligned in IE7.

Here's the fix you suggested. It seems to only work in one browser or the other, not both.

To fix this open up your color1.css (line 793) file  (or perhaps color2, color3, depending on what you are using)

Change the below margin-top from 4 to 3:

Code:

#navv ul li a.active {
background:transparent url(../images/color1/menu_left.gif) no-repeat scroll left center;
color:#000000;
margin-top:-4px;

PROBLEM #2) The fourth button link on my main menu (Testimonials) does not work right. When that page is selected, the button remains the same as if it weren't the active button.

Here's the website with the problems: www.shoebootvalet.com

Appreciate some help with this. I've looked through all the CSS and can't seem to find any solutions.

Thanks,
Brenda
Logged

Offline newday
Free Member
Posts: 9
Posted on: August 10, 2009, 10:48:50 AM

Hello,

It's been over a week and I'm still waiting on a reply for this problem. The menu buttons (when active) look very bad in either Firefox, or IE, depending on which fix you apply. Right now IE7 is fixed and firefox is not. Can someone please help with this?

THanks,
Brenda
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: August 12, 2009, 11:10:47 PM

I'm sorry for the delay we are looking into this and will provide a fix shortly
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: August 13, 2009, 04:37:52 PM

Hello,

The downloads have been updated and fixed.  To fix this on your site either grab a new download as this has been updated or open up your index.php file and look for:

Code:
<?php
$br 
strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); // what browser.
if(ereg("msie 7"$br)) {
$is_ie7 "yes";

else {
$is_ie7 "no";
}
?>



</head>

Replace it with:
Code:
<?php
$br 
strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); // what browser.
if(ereg("msie 7"$br)) {
$is_ie7 "yes";

else {
$is_ie7 "no";
}

if ( 
strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Firefox') )
   {
     
$is_ff "yes";
 } else {
 $is_ff "no"; }
 
?>


<?php if ($is_ff == "yes") { ?>
<style>
#navv ul li a.active {
margin-top:-3px;}
</style>
<?php ?>

<?php if ($is_ie7  == "yes") { ?>
<style>
#navlist li:hover a, #navlist li.sfHover a {
margin-top:-1px;
}
</style>
<?php ?>

Regards,
Logged

Offline newday
Free Member
Posts: 9
Posted on: August 14, 2009, 11:29:11 AM

You can view the source on my site in both FF and IE since I applied your solution and see that the new code is doing what it is supposed to do.

BUT -- it isn't overriding the style with the problem. The menu remains broken.

Plus, it doesn't explain why my fourth menu link doesn't show up as active when selected either.

Still looking for a solution!

Thanks,
Brenda Etherton
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: August 17, 2009, 03:44:03 PM

It doesn't appear you have added it correctly as I don't see it when I view the source.  You should see:

   <style>
#navv ul li a.active {
margin-top:-3px;}
</style>


Above the opening body tag in FF, if you view the site on our demo you'll see this:
http://www.shape5.com/demo/creative_edge/

If you PM login details to your site I could get it fixed for you.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.024 seconds with 21 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.