Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 03:30:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Menu button problems  (Read 1046 times)
newday
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



« on: July 27, 2009, 03:58:55 PM »

I have two problems with the main menu buttons.

PROBLEM #1) I had the same problem as another poster where the left side of the button graphic was misaligned in Firefox only. I applied the following fix that you suggested and it fixes the problem in FF. But, then the button becomes misaligned in IE7.

Here's the fix you suggested. It seems to only work in one browser or the other, not both.

To fix this open up your color1.css (line 793) file  (or perhaps color2, color3, depending on what you are using)

Change the below margin-top from 4 to 3:

Code:

#navv ul li a.active {
background:transparent url(../images/color1/menu_left.gif) no-repeat scroll left center;
color:#000000;
margin-top:-4px;

PROBLEM #2) The fourth button link on my main menu (Testimonials) does not work right. When that page is selected, the button remains the same as if it weren't the active button.

Here's the website with the problems: www.shoebootvalet.com

Appreciate some help with this. I've looked through all the CSS and can't seem to find any solutions.

Thanks,
Brenda
Logged
newday
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 10:48:50 AM »

Hello,

It's been over a week and I'm still waiting on a reply for this problem. The menu buttons (when active) look very bad in either Firefox, or IE, depending on which fix you apply. Right now IE7 is fixed and firefox is not. Can someone please help with this?

THanks,
Brenda
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 11:10:47 PM »

I'm sorry for the delay we are looking into this and will provide a fix shortly
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2009, 04:37:52 PM »

Hello,

The downloads have been updated and fixed.  To fix this on your site either grab a new download as this has been updated or open up your index.php file and look for:

Code:
<?php
$br 
strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); // what browser.
if(ereg("msie 7"$br)) {
$is_ie7 "yes";

else {
$is_ie7 "no";
}
?>



</head>

Replace it with:
Code:
<?php
$br 
strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); // what browser.
if(ereg("msie 7"$br)) {
$is_ie7 "yes";

else {
$is_ie7 "no";
}

if ( 
strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Firefox') )
   {
     
$is_ff "yes";
 } else {
 $is_ff "no"; }
 
?>


<?php if ($is_ff == "yes") { ?>
<style>
#navv ul li a.active {
margin-top:-3px;}
</style>
<?php ?>

<?php if ($is_ie7  == "yes") { ?>
<style>
#navlist li:hover a, #navlist li.sfHover a {
margin-top:-1px;
}
</style>
<?php ?>

Regards,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
newday
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2009, 11:29:11 AM »

You can view the source on my site in both FF and IE since I applied your solution and see that the new code is doing what it is supposed to do.

BUT -- it isn't overriding the style with the problem. The menu remains broken.

Plus, it doesn't explain why my fourth menu link doesn't show up as active when selected either.

Still looking for a solution!

Thanks,
Brenda Etherton
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2009, 03:44:03 PM »

It doesn't appear you have added it correctly as I don't see it when I view the source.  You should see:

   <style>
#navv ul li a.active {
margin-top:-3px;}
</style>


Above the opening body tag in FF, if you view the site on our demo you'll see this:
http://www.shape5.com/demo/creative_edge/

If you PM login details to your site I could get it fixed for you.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.