Forum Support

Shape 5
July 24, 2021, 07:56:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linking Main Images to news articles on front page  (Read 249 times)
funnystuff
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« on: December 03, 2009, 03:21:56 AM »

Hi,

Excuse the noob question, just new to all this. With the template unchanged, how do I link images to news articles on the front pages primary news display, up the top.

For instance, the image which is linked to the news article, which is displayed over the image. I can locate where the image is meant to be saved, but how do I link that so that the news article text is displayed over the image?

Also the text is white on the front page, then black when you click on it. Is there a way to keep it white on the front page, then black when the article is clicked (being the text over the image, which is what is being clicked).


And finally, is there anyway to remove the designed by shape 5 link at the bottom?

Thanks.
Logged
funnystuff
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 03:29:20 AM »

Actually never mind the first question! Just the 2nd, how do I get the black text to stay white on the front page, then stay black on the clicked on page? As well as the question about the Designed By bit.

Thanks!
Logged
funnystuff
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 03:31:10 AM »

And final question, what would be the best way to install a forum in to the template?

Any joomla coders out there that need work?!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 08:45:39 AM »

Hello,

I am not sure what you mean about the white text, can you post a url to where this is occurring and mention the specific text?

The design by is in the template's footer.php in the root folder of the template. You can modify this however you wish.

There are several forum components available on extensions.joomla.org
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
funnystuff
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2009, 09:32:41 AM »

That answered my question.

Also just wondering, in the banner section I am able to enter coding for affliate banners which are scripts. I place this under Custom Banner Code. However when trying to do the same in the modules section for banners, for instance where the front page sprint advert is, there is no custom banner code for me to input, and entering the code in html format in the module does not work.

Is there anywhere in the module section where I can input a script for a banner which will be accepted, much like the custom banner code section?
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2009, 12:25:39 PM »

Hello, any custom script like that would need to go in a custom html module and insert the script into the html code.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
funnystuff
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2009, 05:41:29 PM »

I have tried to enter it in to the html code section. I click update, it goes back to the main screen, and it doesn't save in the html section.

Also, where can I edit the icon which is next to the website address bar itself.

And finally, on the template the bottom menu for

    * Home
    * Contact Us
    * FAQs
    * About Us
    * Community
    * News

which is next to the copyright insignia on the front page, does not work and does nothing when clicked. Is this disabled somewhere? And the FAQ under Joomla Stuff goes to an error which states 404 - Resource not found.

Thanks.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2009, 08:49:20 AM »

Hello,

If the module is not saving then there is a problem on your server or your session has timed out.

The favicon.ico is found in the template's root folder, you need to clear your cache on your browser to see it update.

The bottom menu is dummy text with disabled links, you need to modify bottom menu in the menu manager with your own links.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.